The media are invited to attend the signing of the Terms of Reference for the Renewable Energy Development hub in KZN.
The Renewable Energy Development Hub (RED Hub) is a partnership between government and a consortium of local and foreign firms who plan to build and operate a renewable energy technology innovation hub.
The MEC for Economic Development and Tourism, Mr. Michael Mabuyakhulu, launched the RED HUB-KZN in December 2011 during the COP 17 Conference. This was declared a Legacy Project that will assist in establishing the capacity for skills, Research and Development, technology transfer and production for the development of the Renewable Energy and sustainability development in the Province.
The eThekwini Municipality’s Executive Council supported the establishment of the RED HUB-KZN on 21st of July 2012 and the Cabinet of KwaZulu-Natal Province resolved to support at its Provincial Cabinet Meeting of the 19 of September 2012. The Cabinet further directed that a RED HUB-KZN Provincial Task Team led by the Department of Economic Development and Tourism and comprising of all relevant stakeholders be established.
The signing today of the Terms of Reference for the RED HUB-KZN Provincial Task Team is therefore a demonstration of the commitment by the KZN-DED, eThekwini Municipality and the Ilembe District Municipality to support the Initiative. The TORS outlines the role, responsibilities and commitments of the RED Hub-KZN Task Team to support RED HUB-KZN Private Investment Initiative so that it can be successfully implemented.
Date: 21 February 2013
Time: 6pm
Venue: Hilton Hotel, Durban
Issued by the eThekwini Municipality Communications Unit. For more information contact Thabo Mofokeng on 031 311 4820 or 0827317456 or e-mail or Sohana Singh on 031 311 4805 / 0833 090 207 email