It is that time of the year when eThekwini Municipality calls on its citizens to participate in our prestigious 6th Annual Living Legends Awards, by nominating people whom they feel are worthy to be called living legends, based on the positive and extraordinary contributions they have made in their fields of expertise and society.
To nominate someone who is a current or past eThekwini citizen, members of the public should fill in a form, obtainable from all municipal libraries and museums. Alternatively you can download the form from Nomination will close on Friday, 26 April 2013.
Worthy people can be nominated in the following categories; Arts and Culture, Sports, Hospitality and Tourism, Human Rights, Music and Entertainment, Media, Academic, Environment, Religion, Business and Science and Technology.
The Living Legends Awards have grown tremendously over the years. Some of the individuals who have been crowned as the eThekwini Living Legends include; Chairwoman of the African National Congress Women’s League, Ms Baleka Mbethe, Chief Justice Sandile Ngcobo, esteemed storyteller, Ms Gcina Mhlophe and former cricketer, Mr Graeme Pollock, to name just a few.
“We are very excited about the tremendous growth of these awards. They give us the opportunity to celebrate and honour those people that have left us with a rich legacy, while they are still alive,” said Mayor, Cllr James Nxumalo. He added that the caliber of people being nominated by members of the public over the years was very high, and he has no doubt that the 2013 Living legends Awards will live up to and exceed the standard set in the previous years.
For more information contact the Municipal Spokesman, Mr Thabo Mofokeng, on 031 311 4820 or 082 731 7456 or e-mail
Issued by eThekwini Municipality’s Communications Unit, call Vuyo Gwala on 031 311 4838, 073 250 5704 or email: