​Durban was today, announced as one of 30 successful cities to be inaugurated into the Rockefeller Foundation’s 100 Resilient Cities programme at an ‘Innovation Forum’ focusing on ‘Building Resilient Cities.
The Deputy Head of Environmental Planning and Climate Protection, Dr Debra Robert said, this programme represents a significant opportunity for eThekwini Municipality.
“This is a significant achievement, and is a sign of the growing international respect for Durban as a global leader and City of action, particularly in the fields of water governance and climate change adaptation. This programme has the potential to bring the city’s strengths together in a better coordinated plan for resilience, as the world moves into an uncertain and unpredictable future, says Robert”.
Durban was chosen out of 400 cities across six continents that applied for the 100 Resilient Cities Centennial Challenge. The applications were reviewed by a panel of eight esteemed judges that included former U.S. President Bill Clinton, and former Nigerian President Obasanjo.
The 100 Resilient Cities Centennial Challenge in Durban will be led by a cross-sectorial team within the Municipality, under Dr Debra Roberts as the Chief Resilience Officer. It is critical that the process also engages a range of stakeholders such as tertiary institutions, NGO’s, business and members of the public. It is also anticipated that specialist expertise will be provided by the Rockefeller Foundation to support the development of Durban’s Resilience Plan.
For more information please contact Manisha Hassan on 031 311 7382 or email: MaganlalM@durban.gov.za
Issued by the eThekwini Municipality's Communications Unit. Contact Sane Shandu on 031 311 4806/072 572 8658 or email: Sanelisiwe.Shandu@durban.gov.za